United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change

About The Committee

The UNFCCC entered into force on 21 March 1994. Today, it has near-universal membership. The 197 countries that have ratified the Convention are called Parties to the Convention. The UNFCCC is a “Rio Convention”, one of three adopted at the “Rio Earth Summit” in 1992. Its sister Rio Conventions are the UN Convention on Biological Diversity and the Convention to Combat Desertification. The three are intrinsically linked. It is in this context that the Joint Liaison Group was set up to boost cooperation among the three Conventions, with the ultimate aim of developing synergies in their activities on issues of mutual concern. It now also incorporates the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands. Preventing “dangerous” human interference with the climate system is the ultimate aim of the UNFCCC.

Agenda: Enhancing Climate Technology Development and Transfer Through The Technology Mechanism

The UNFCCC Secretariat (UN Climate Change) was established in 1992 when countries adopted the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). With the subsequent adoption of the Kyoto Protocol  in 1997 and the Paris Agreement  in 2015, Parties to these three agreements have progressively reaffirmed the Secretariat’s role as the United Nations entity tasked with supporting the global response to the threat of climate change. In the United Nations Climate Change process, technology mechanism works to enhance the Climate Technology Action through two bodies: Technology Executive Committee and the Climate Technology Centre and Network. In the recent years, climate innovations have been deployed to achieve the objectives of the Paris Climate Change Agreement.  Nevertheless, the global climatic distress has been on a record- breaking rise. With the aim of managing the climate change better, we at SOLMUN seek to discuss enhancing climate technology development and transfer through the technology mechanism.